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Withholding/Transit Tax Information: 
Out-of-state/Nonresident Employers

Out-of-state employers working in Oregon

Oregon law requires that every employer withhold 
income tax from both resident and nonresident 
employees working in Oregon. The following infor-
mation explains your responsibilities.

Withholding requirements for  
out-of-state employers
Nonresident employers of Oregon resident 
employees

You must withhold tax from all wages paid to Oregon 
resident employees working in Oregon, regardless of 
whether they work out of your physical location in 
Oregon or work/telecommute from their residence. 

If you pay wages to Oregon residents, you may be 
relieved of the duty to withhold if you can show, 
to our satisfaction, that each individual employee 
working in Oregon will receive $300 or less in wages 
from you within a calendar year.

We can’t require withholding for Oregon resident 
employees when the services are performed for an 
employer who doesn’t have employees working in 
Oregon. However, we ask employers to register and 
withhold tax on wages paid to Oregon residents as a 
convenience to the employee. 

Nonresident employers of Oregon nonresi-
dent employees

You must withhold Oregon income tax from all 
wages earned by nonresident employees for ser-
vices performed in Oregon, unless their Oregon 
earning for the year will be less than their stan-
dard deduction amount for their filing status. 
Wages are still reported as Oregon-source income 
on Form W-2. Nonresident employees with wages 
greater than their standard deduction amount 
are required to file an Oregon nonresident return. 
The Oregon standard deduction amounts for tax 
year 2022 are:

Single/married filing separately	 $2,420
Head of household	 $4,840
Married filing jointly	 $4,840
Qualifying widower	 $4,840

Note: These figures change each year. Contact us at 
503-945-8091 to obtain the latest figures.

Nonresident employees with Oregon wages less than 
their standard deduction may still request that you 
withhold tax; usually, they have additional Oregon 
income from other sources. 

Oregon employer update for  
Oregon-only W-4
In December 2017, Congress passed the Tax Cuts and 
Jobs Act (TCJA), resulting in many changes to federal 
personal income taxes. In response, the IRS updated 
the federal Form W-4 worksheets in early 2018. 
This changed the number of allowances employees 
should claim, creating a disconnect between federal 
and state withholding that could leave employees 
owing money when they file their 2018 Oregon per-
sonal income tax return.

Starting on January 1, 2020, the above changes to fed-
eral tax laws mean that the federal Form W-4 may not 
provide the correct withholding for Oregon taxes. 
Department of Revenue created the Form OR-W-4 
to help determine correct allowances for Oregon. If 
you have questions about your withholding obliga-
tions as an employer, please visit the withholding 
webpage at www.oregon.gov/dor/personal, and 
click on “Oregon withholding info and resources,” 
or email us at: payroll.help.dor@​oregon.gov. If 
your employees have questions about calculating 
or changing their Oregon income tax withholding, 
refer them to the OR-W-4 Instructions or the Oregon 
income tax withholding calculator, which is avail-
able on our website at www.oregon.gov/dor. They 
can also call us at 503-378-4988 for assistance.

Transit district excise taxes

We administer these tax programs for the Tri-County 
Metropolitan Transit District (TriMet) and the Lane 
County Mass Transit District (LTD). They provide 
revenue for the two major mass transit districts 
[Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) 267]. Transit payroll 
tax is imposed on nearly every employer who pays 
wages for services performed in the TriMet or LTD 
districts regardless of whether those services are per-
formed by resident or nonresident employees. This 
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includes work performed in areas where salespeople 
conduct business or the homes of Oregon resident 
employees who telecommute. 

The TriMet district includes parts of Multnomah, 
Washington, and Clackamas counties. LTD serves 
the Eugene-Springfield metropolitan area and sev-
eral rural cities.

For additional information on transit taxes, visit 
www.oregon.gov/dor/business, or request a copy 
of Oregon Transit Taxes for Employers–Should I be Filing? 
by calling 503-945-8091.

Statewide transit tax

The 2017 Oregon Legislature passed House Bill (HB) 
2017, which included the new statewide transit tax. 
The statewide transit tax requires employers to with-
hold the tax (one-tenth of 1 percent or .001) from:

•	Wages of Oregon residents (regardless of where 
the work is performed).

•	Wages of nonresidents who perform services in 
Oregon.

The statewide transit tax is calculated based on 
the employee’s wages as defined in ORS 316.162. 
Employees who aren’t subject to regular income 
tax withholding due to high exemptions, wages 
below the threshold for income tax withholding, 
or other factors are subject to statewide transit tax 
withholding.

This tax isn’t related to the TriMet or LTD transit 
payroll taxes. Transit payroll taxes are imposed on 
the employer based on the amount of payroll. The 
statewide transit tax is imposed on the wages of 
each employee, but the employer is responsible for 
withholding, reporting, and remitting the statewide 
transit tax. For additional information on the state-
wide transit tax, visit www.oregon.gov/dor/business 
or call 503-945-8100.

Reporting requirements

All employers with resident or nonresident employ-
ees working in Oregon must register with us before 
issuing their first paychecks. Use the Combined 
Employer’s Registration, 150-211-055, which you can 
request by calling 503-945-8091 or download at 
www.oregon.gov/dor. Mail the completed form to 
the address at the bottom of the form. Within three 
weeks, we will assign you an Oregon business iden-
tification number (BIN) and send the forms you will 
need to pay and report payroll taxes. 

Oregon income tax on nonresident employees

The income earned from services performed in Ore-
gon by a nonresident is subject to Oregon income 
tax. A nonresident with Oregon income is required 
to file a nonresident tax return (Form 40N) before 
April  15 following the year in which they earned 
Oregon-source income.

A credit is allowed for employees who are taxed on 
the same income by more than one state. Depending 
on the employee’s home state, the credit may reduce 
the tax paid to Oregon or may reduce tax paid to the 
employee’s home state. 

The nonresident (Form 40N) and part-year resident 
(Form 40P) personal income tax forms and instruc-
tions are available on the internet at www.oregon.
gov/dor or by writing to: Forms, Oregon Depart-
ment of Revenue, PO Box 14999, Salem OR 97301.

Do you have questions or need help?
www.oregon.gov/dor
503-378-4988 or 800-356-4222
questions.dor@​oregon.gov

Contact us for ADA accommodations or assistance in 
other languages.


